Tuesday, October 9, 2018

It's Leif Erikson Day with Spongebob Squarepants and the Emmy winners in animation and children's programming

Last year, I made a promise for Leif Erikson Day.
I already know how I'm going to celebrate it next year -- with a clip of Spongebob Squarepants.  I'd post it today, but I'm an environmentalist.  I conserve my resources.
Here is Spongebob wishing everyone in Bikini Bottom a Happy Leif Erikson Day!

On a more serious note, here is the holiday's description from National Day Calendar.

National Leif Erickson Day is observed annually on October 9th.  The day honors Leif Erikson, the Norse explorer who brought the first Europeans known to have set foot in North America.  Leif Erikson left the European continent in 999 and set foot in America in the year 1,000.


Use #LeifEriksonDay to post on social media.


In 1925, at the Norse-American Centennial, President Calvin Coolidge gave recognition to Leif Erikson as the discoverer of America due to research by Norwegian-American scholars such as Knut Geirset and Ludvig-Hektoen.

United States Representative John Blatnik from Duluth introduced a bill in 1963 to observe Leif Erikson Day nationwide.  On September 2, 1964, the United States Congress passed Joint Resolution 88-566authorizing the President to proclaim October 9 as Leif Erikson Day.  President Lyndon B. Johnson and each President since have done so.  In the proclamations, the Presidents have praised the contributions of Americans of Nordic descent generally and the spirit of discovery. 

Some states officially commemorate Leif Erikson Day in addition to the federal observance, particularly in the Upper Midwest where there are large numbers of people from the Nordic countries settled.

On October 9, 1825, a sloop named...Restauration, with 52 Norwegian Quakers on board, landed in New York Harbor beginning what would become the first organized immigration from Norway to the United States.  In commemoration of their journey and their exploring ancestor, Congress selected October 9 for National Leif Erickson Day.
Since I'm celebrating a holiday made famous by an animated character and am in the middle of writing about the winners of the Emmy Awards, follow over the jump for the winners of the animation and children's programming categories at Creative Arts Emmy Awards.

As I did for 'The Americans' and 'The Crown' — 20th Century government winners at the Primetime and Creative Arts Emmy Awards and 'Game of Thrones,' 'Westworld,' and 'The Handmaid's Tale' — fantastic and futuristic government winners at the Primetime and Creative Arts Emmy Awards, it's time to be a good environmenalist and recycle from 'Westworld,' 'Game of Thrones,' 'The Handmaid's Tale,' 'Stranger Things,' and other speculative fiction nominees at the Creative Arts Emmy Awards.
I begin the first of three program categories with Outstanding Animated Program.
Big Hero 6: The Series (Episode: "Baymax Returns") (Disney XD)
Bob's Burgers (Episode: "V For Valentine-detta") (Fox)
Rick and Morty (Episode: "Pickle Rick") (Adult Swim)
The Simpsons (Episode: "Gone Boy") (Fox)
South Park (Episode: "Put It Down") (Comedy Central)
"Bob's Burgers" won this category last year, so I expect it will do it again.  As the image I used to illustrate this section indicates, I think its biggest competition is "Rick and Morty."
And I was right to think so, as "Rick and Morty" won.  Congratulations!
The second category rewarding animation is Outstanding Short-Format Animation.
Adventure Time (Episode: "Ring of Fire") (Cartoon Network)
Robot Chicken (Episode: "Freshly Baked: The Robot Chicken Santa Claus Pot Cookie Freakout Special: Special Edition") (Adult Swim)
Steven Universe (Episode: "Jungle Moon") (Cartoon Network)
Teen Titans Go! (Episode: "The Self-Indulgent 200th Episode Spectacular! Pt. 1 and Pt. 2") (Cartoon Network)
We Bare Bears (Episode: "Hurricane Hal") (Cartoon Network)
"Adventure Time" won last year, so I think it will win again.
I forgot to pick the likely upset.  I was thinking it could be "Robot Chicken," which ended up winning, but I get no credit for saying so after the fact.  Just the same, congratulations!

On the other hand, I do get credit for my next prediction.
I conclude the program nominations with a category that is mostly live action, but has my favorite animated show among its nominees, Outstanding Children's Program.
Alexa and Katie (Netflix)
Fuller House (Netflix)
A Series of Unfortunate Events (Netflix)
The Magical Wand Chase: A Sesame Street Special (HBO)
Star Wars Rebels (Disney XD)
Of course I'm rooting for the final season of "Star Wars Rebels," the Saturn Award winner, but I don't think it will win.  Instead, the favorite is "Sesame Street," which won this award last year, followed by "A Series of Unfortunate Events" and "Fuller House."  At least the first is a speculative fiction series.
"The Magical Wand Chase: A Sesame Street Special" won, as I expected.  Watch Emmy winners "The Magical Wand Chase: A Sesame Street Special" 2018 Creative Arts Emmys Press Room.

That completes the program awards.  Now for some awards that recognize individuals in animation, beginning with Outstanding Character Voice-Over Performance.
Alex Borstein as Lois Griffin, Babs Pewterschmidt, Natalia, Female Hippo, Woman in Car and Female Voice on Family Guy (Episode: "Nanny Goats") (Fox)
Dan Castellaneta as Homer Simpson, Krusty the Clown, Groundskeeper Willie, Sideshow Mel on The Simpsons (Episode: "Fears of a Clown") (Fox)
Seth MacFarlane as Stan Smith and Roger Smith on American Dad! (Episode: "The Talented Mr. Dingleberry") (TBS)
Seth MacFarlane as Stewie Griffin and Brian Griffin on Family Guy (Episode: "Send in Stewie, Please") (Fox)
Russi Taylor as Huey, Dewey, Louie, Grandma, The Witch and Minnie Mouse on Mickey Mouse (Episode: "The Scariest Story Ever: A Mickey Mouse Halloween Spooktacular") (Disney Channel)
Seth MacFarlane won the past two years for his work on "Family Guy," but that doesn't mean he's the prohibitive favorite this year, as he's now competing against himself and "Family Guy" co-star Alex Borstein, who is also nominated for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy.  She could pull an upset, as could Dan Castellaneta.
I was right to think that Borstein, who also won for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy, had a good chance of upsetting her co-star MacFarlane, as she won.  For the first time, congratulations!*
Next, some categories in which the nominees have already won, Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation, as these awards are juried.
Adventure Time – Lindsay Small-Butera (character animation) (Episode: "Ketchup") (Cartoon Network)
Hey Arnold!: The Jungle Movie – Stu Livingston (storyboard artist) (Nickelodeon)
The Number on Great-Grandpa's Arm – Jeff Scher (production design) (HBO)
The Scariest Story Ever: A Mickey Mouse Halloween Spooktacular – Justin Martin (background design) (Disney Channel)
The Simpsons – Caroline Cruikshank (character animation) (Episode: "Springfield Splendor") (Fox)
Steven Universe – Patrick Bryson (background painting) (Episode: "Jungle Moon") (Cartoon Network)
Watch Emmy winners in Individual Achievement in Animation in the 2018 Creative Arts Emmys Press Room.

Keep up the great work, everyone!  Once again, Happy Leif Erikson Day!  Hinga Dinga Durgen!

*I'll congratulate her a second time when I write about (most) of the comedy winners tomorrow.  Stay tuned.

No comments:

Post a Comment